Burning Is Determined On A Day By Day Basis By The State Of Massachusetts; Dependent Upon Weather Conditions,Air Quality And Ground Conditions.
You Only Need One Permit Per Year!!
If You Lose It Call The Fire Department!
Click here to obtain ONLY ONE Burning Permit for 2018. Please note that obtaining a permit is not permission to burn on any specific day. You must Contact the Burning Permit Activation Line (508) 553-5574 between 10 and noon or scroll down to activate your permit during the same hours. This must be done each day you would like to burn.
Please review the Open Burning Requirements and Responsibilities.
For 2018 Burning Permit Holders, Please click here or call the Burning Permit Activation Line (508) 553-5574 to request permission to burn today.
You may activate your permit between 10-NOON ONLY
Open Burning Requirements And Responsibilities
Open burning under poor atmospheric conditions can create a smoke nuisance, aggravate health and respiratory conditions. If not done properly and controlled, it can also endanger life, real property, and woodlands. For these reasons, open burning is closely regulated in Massachusetts by multiple regulatory organizations.
You must obtain a PERMIT yearly for any open burning from the Franklin Fire Headquarters, 40 West Central Street for access to a computer. It will be emailed to you. You can also access our On-Line Permitting Process from home. Your permit will be e-mailed to you immediately but may take longer due to processing. Be sure to check your spam folder. DONT REQUEST ANOTHER!
There is no permit fee for the season which runs from January 15 through May 1 annually. YOUR PERMIT IS GOOD FOR THE SEASON!
Burning rules include
- Brush, cane, driftwood, forestry debris, agriculture-related materials, agricultural land clearing only, and fungus-infected Elmwood are allowed under the following conditions:
- Burning must be at least 75 feet from any dwellings.
- Burning must be carried out between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. daily.
2. Burning must begin by noon.
3. Burning must take place on land closest to the source of the material to be burned.
Burning of the following materials is PROHIBITED and may subject you to revocation of your permit and/or a fine:
- Grass, hay, leaves, and stumps. YOU MAY NOT BURN LEAVES.
- Construction materials and lumber
Also prohibited is
- Stacking, placing, or storing combustible material such that the department may presume that it will be burned.
- Failure to obtain a burning permit.
- Failure to fully extinguish the fire by 4 p.m. daily.
- Failure to control/contain the fire.
EACH day of burning, you must
- Call (508) 553-5574 or click here to activate your permit. This must be done between 10 a.m. and Noon. No permission will be granted after Noontime.
- When calling, leave the day, your name, address and the 2018 permit number
- Have a means of controlling the fire, such as a garden hose, pressurized water pump, shovels and rakes, with sufficient help.
- Attend fire at all times.
- Extinguish the fire fully by 4 p.m.
The Fire Chief maintains the right to revoke any permits or to cancel any permits due to high forest fire danger or to deny a permit to any person who he believes will not follow the Open Burning Requirements and Responsibilities or to any person who has violated these requirements in the past.
Whoever violates any provision of 527 CMR 10.22 shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500 plus the cost of suppression or by imprisonment for not more than one month.
Note: You need the Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to view printable version. Click here to get a free copy of Acrobat Reader.