
2018 Ballot Questions 

The three questions below will appear on all ballots in Massachusetts for the November 6, 2018 

State Election. Where additional local or non-binding questions appear, they will be listed after 

these three questions. 

Question #1 

Do you approve of a law summarized below, on which no vote was taken by the Senate or the 

House of Representatives on or before May 2, 2018? 

SUMMARY 

This proposed law would limit how many patients could be assigned to each registered nurse in 

Massachusetts hospitals and certain other health care facilities. The maximum number of patients 

per registered nurse would vary by type of unit and level of care, as follows: 

 In units with step-down/intermediate care patients: 3 patients per nurse; 

 In units with post-anesthesia care or operating room patients: 1 patient under anesthesia 

per nurse; 2 patients post-anesthesia per nurse; 

 In the emergency services department: 1 critical or intensive care patient per nurse (or 2 

if the nurse has assessed each patient’s condition as stable); 2 urgent non-stable patients 

per nurse; 3 urgent stable patients per nurse; or 5 non-urgent stable patients per nurse; 

 In units with maternity patients: (a) active labor patients: 1 patient per nurse; (b) during 

birth and for up to two hours immediately postpartum: 1 mother per nurse and 1 baby per 

nurse; (c) when the condition of the mother and baby are determined to be stable: 1 

mother and her baby or babies per nurse; (d) postpartum: 6 patients per nurse; (e) 

intermediate care or continuing care babies: 2 babies per nurse; (f) well-babies: 6 babies 

per nurse; 

 In units with pediatric, medical, surgical, telemetry, or observational/outpatient treatment 

patients, or any other unit: 4 patients per nurse; and 

 In units with psychiatric or rehabilitation patients: 5 patients per nurse. 

The proposed law would require a covered facility to comply with the patient assignment limits 

without reducing its level of nursing, service, maintenance, clerical, professional, and other staff. 

The proposed law would also require every covered facility to develop a written patient acuity 

tool for each unit to evaluate the condition of each patient. This tool would be used by nurses in 

deciding whether patient limits should be lower than the limits of the proposed law at any given 

time. 



The proposed law would not override any contract in effect on January 1, 2019 that set higher 

patient limits. The proposed law’s limits would take effect after any such contract expired. 

The state Health Policy Commission would be required to promulgate regulations to implement 

the proposed law. The Commission could conduct inspections to ensure compliance with the 

law. Any facility receiving written notice from the Commission of a complaint or a violation 

would be required to submit a written compliance plan to the Commission. The Commission 

could report violations to the state Attorney General, who could file suit to obtain a civil penalty 

of up to $25,000 per violation as well as up to $25,000 for each day a violation continued after 

the Commission notified the covered facility of the violation. The Health Policy Commission 

would be required to establish a toll-free telephone number for complaints and a website where 

complaints, compliance plans, and violations would appear. 

The proposed law would prohibit discipline or retaliation against any employee for complying 

with the patient assignment limits of the law. The proposed law would require every covered 

facility to post within each unit, patient room, and waiting area a notice explaining the patient 

limits and how to report violations. Each day of a facility’s non-compliance with the posting 

requirement would be punishable by a civil penalty between $250 and $2,500. 

The proposed law’s requirements would be suspended during a state or nationally declared 

public health emergency. 

The proposed law states that, if any of its parts were declared invalid, the other parts would stay 

in effect. The proposed law would take effect on January 1, 2019. 

A YES VOTE would limit the number of patients that could be assigned to one registered nurse 

in hospitals and certain other health care facilities. 

A NO VOTE would make no change in current laws relative to patient-to-nurse limits. 

Question #2 

Do you approve of a law summarized below, on which no vote was taken by the Senate or the 

House of Representatives on or before May 2, 2018? 

SUMMARY 

This proposed law would create a citizens commission to consider and recommend potential 

amendments to the United States Constitution to establish that corporations do not have the same 

Constitutional rights as human beings and that campaign contributions and expenditures may be 

regulated. 

Any resident of Massachusetts who is a United States citizen would be able to apply for 

appointment to the 15-member commission, and members would serve without compensation. 

The Governor, the Secretary of the Commonwealth, the state Attorney General, the Speaker of 

the state House of Representatives, and the President of the state Senate would each appoint 



three members of the commission and, in making these appointments, would seek to ensure that 

the commission reflects a range of geographic, political, and demographic backgrounds. 

The commission would be required to research and take testimony, and then issue a report 

regarding (1) the impact of political spending in Massachusetts; (2) any limitations on the state’s 

ability to regulate corporations and other entities in light of Supreme Court decisions that allow 

corporations to assert certain constitutional rights; (3) recommendations for constitutional 

amendments; (4) an analysis of constitutional amendments introduced to Congress; and (5) 

recommendations for advancing proposed amendments to the United States Constitution. 

The commission would be subject to the state Open Meeting Law and Public Records Law. The 

commission’s first report would be due December 31, 2019, and the Secretary of the 

Commonwealth would be required to deliver the commission’s report to the state Legislature, the 

United States Congress, and the President of the United States. 

The proposed law states that, if any of its parts were declared invalid, the other parts would stay 

in effect. The proposed law would take effect on January 1, 2019. 

A YES VOTE would create a citizens commission to advance an amendment to the United 

States Constitution to limit the influence of money in elections and establish that corporations do 

not have the same rights as human beings. 

A NO VOTE would not create this commission. 

Question #3 

Do you approve of a law summarized below, which was approved by the House of 

Representatives and the Senate on July 7, 2016? 

SUMMARY 

This law adds gender identity to the list of prohibited grounds for discrimination in places of 

public accommodation, resort, or amusement. Such grounds also include race, color, religious 

creed, national origin, sex, disability, and ancestry. A “place of public accommodation, resort or 

amusement” is defined in existing law as any place that is open to and accepts or solicits the 

patronage of the general public, such as hotels, stores, restaurants, theaters, sports facilities, and 

hospitals. “Gender identity” is defined as a person’s sincerely held gender-related identity, 

appearance, or behavior, whether or not it is different from that traditionally associated with the 

person’s physiology or assigned sex at birth. 

This law prohibits discrimination based on gender identity in a person’s admission to or 

treatment in any place of public accommodation. The law requires any such place that has 

separate areas for males and females (such as restrooms) to allow access to and full use of those 

areas consistent with a person’s gender identity. The law also prohibits the owner or manager of 

a place of public accommodation from using advertising or signage that discriminates on the 

basis of gender identity. 



This law directs the state Commission Against Discrimination to adopt rules or policies and 

make recommendations to carry out this law. The law also directs the state Attorney General to 

issue regulations or guidance on referring for legal action any person who asserts gender identity 

for an improper purpose. 

The provisions of this law governing access to places of public accommodation are effective as 

of October 1, 2016. The remaining provisions are effective as of July 8, 2016. 

A YES VOTE would keep in place the current law, which prohibits discrimination on the basis 

of gender identity in places of public accommodation. 

A NO VOTE would repeal this provision of the public accommodation law. 

 


