# Franklin Cultural District Committee Meeting Massachusetts Cultural District Initiative Site Visit Franklin Cultural District, Franklin, MA

Thursday, September 20, 2018 10:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

#### Massachusetts Cultural Council Attendees:

Anita Walker, Executive Director, Mass Cultural Council Meri Jenkins, Program Manager, Mass Cultural District Initiative Luis Cotto, Mass Cultural District Initiative Lisa Simmons, Program Manager, Communities, Mass Cultural Council Mina Kim, Program Officer, Communities, Mass Cultural Council Charlotte Cutter, Program Officer, Communities, Mass Cultural Council Arreen Andrews, Program Officer, Communities, Mass Cultural Council Justina Crawford, Program Officer, Communities, Mass Cultural Council Anita Lauricella, Site Advisor, MA Cultural District Initiative

# 10:30 - 11:20 a.m. Round table with Municipal Leaders

Ben Franklin Meeting Room, Franklin Public Library, 118 Main Street

## Participants:

Town Council: Tom Mercer, Vice Chair & Econ. Dev. Subcommittee Chair; Deborah Pellegri Administration: Jeffrey Nutting, Town Administrator; Jamie Hellen, Deputy Town Administrator Franklin Cultural District Committee (FCDC): Phillip Regan, Chair; John LoPresti, Vice Chair & Marketing Subcommittee Chair; Nancy Schoen, Clerk & Partnership Subcommittee Chair; Kit Brady, Goals Subcommittee Chair; Tyler Warren, Social Media.

Franklin Cultural Council: Stacey David, Chair (also FCDC member)

Historical Commission: Mary Olsson, Chair

School Department: Dr. Sara Ahern, Superintendent Council on Aging: Karen Alves, Senior Center Director

Franklin Public Library: Felicia Oti, Director

Planning & Community Development: Bryan Taberner, Director

### Call to Order. Phillip Regan, FCDC Chair

10:30 a.m.

Anita Walker, MCC Executive Director

## Agenda:

- Introductions
- Background to MA Cultural District Initiative
- o Response to Site Advisor Questions

# 11:20 a.m. - 2:20 p.m. Tour of District

#### Participants:

Representative Jeffery Roy, Phillip Regan, John LoPresti, Nancy Schoen, Stacey David, Kit Brady, Tyler Warren, and Bryan Taberner. Jeffrey Nutting, Roberta Trahan, Lisa Piana and others will join the Group for portions of Tour.

#### **Tour Route:**

1. Franklin Public Library

11:20 a.m.

Felicia Oti, Director; Caleigh Keating, Youth Services Librarian

2. **Main Street, North**. Jeffrey Nutting
Town of Franklin Revitalization Initiatives

National Register Historic Districts

3. Franklin Town Common, Main & High

11:35 a.m.

**Farmers Market** 

Concerts on the Common

4. Main & Pleasant

Ben Franklin Classical Charter School

**Veterans Monuments** 

5. Main & Church

11:40 a.m.

**Brick School House** 

Church Street

Oak Street

O'Reagan Early Childhood Center

Oak Street Elementary School

Horace Mann Middle School

6. Franklin High School, Dr. Sara Ahern; Dr. Joyce Edwards

12:00 p.m.

Oak Street

7. Franklin Senior Center, Karen Alves, Director

12:25 p.m.

Oak Street Union Street

8. Franklin Town Common, Union & High

**Union Street** 

9. Union & West Central

12:35 p.m.

Davis Thayer School

Dean College

CCMC Property, Hayward Mills,

Ray Memorial Cemetery

West Central

10. West Central & Emmons

Horace Mann Statue

New Development

Franklin United Methodist Church

11. **Dean College**. Campus Center: The Main Stage & Guidrey Center. 12:45 p.m.

Dr. Paula Rooney, President; Paul Resten, Dean of School of Continuing Studies, Assoc. VP of Business Development; Tracy Lane, Assistant to the Dean, Palladino School of Dance & School of the Arts; John Rooke, Director, Center for Business, Entertainment & Sport Management

Break For Lunch, Dean College Campus Center

1:00 to 1:45 p.m.

**District Tour (Continued)** 

12. Main Street, South. Roberta Trahan & Lisa Piana

1:45 p.m.

Dean College, Dean Hall

Downtown Streetscape Improvements

13. Franklin School for the Performing Arts

1:50 p.m.

Raye Lynn Mercer, Founder & Director; Kim Rezendes, Asst. Dir.; Hallie Wetzell, Asst. Dir.

14. Teddy Gallagher's Irish Pub

15. Emma's Quilt Cupboard and Sewing Center

16. The Little Shop of Olive Oils

Culinary Arts and Franklin Center Restaurants

MBTA Commuter Rail Station

East Central Street

New Development

17. Franklin Downtown Partnership, Roberta Trahan; Lisa Piana

2:10 p.m.

West Central Street

18. THE BLACK BOX

2:20 p.m.

Alan Mercer, Director of Advancement; Raye Lynn Mercer, Executive Director

19. Franklin Historical Museum, Mary Olsson

2:30 p.m.

# 2:40 - 3:25 p.m. Round table with Partnering Organizations & Stakeholders

Franklin Historical Museum, 80 West Central Street

Participants:

Philip Regan, FCDC Chair

John LoPresti, FCDC Vice Chair

Nancy Schoen, FCDC Clerk

Kit Brady, FCDC

Tyler Warren, FCDC

Stacey David, Franklin Cultural Council Chair & FCDC

Bryan Taberner, Planning & Community Development

Roberta Trahan, Franklin Downtown Partnership, President

Lisa Piana, Franklin Downtown Partnership, Executive Director

Pandora Carlucci, Franklin Downtown Partnership

Paul Resten, Dean College

Raye Lynn Mercer, Franklin School for the Performing Arts

Alan Mercer, Franklin Performing Arts Company

Mark Plukas, Circle of Friends Coffeehouse

Mary Olsson, Franklin Historical Commission Chair

Susan Sheridan, Franklin Art Association

Peg Munson, Franklin Art Association

Karen Alves, Senior Center Director

Felicia Oti, Franklin Public Library, Director

Caleigh Keating, Franklin Public Library, Youth Services Librarian

Christopher Nayler, Franklin Public Schools (FPS), Director of Lifelong Learning Institute

Brenna Johnson, Franklin High School Art Department

Diane Plouffe, Franklin Public Schools, Director of Music and Performing Arts

Dr. Joyce Edwards, FPS Assistant Superintendent for Teaching & Learning

Dr. Sara Ahern, FPS Superintendent

Peter Fasciano, Franklin TV-Franklin Radio

Ken Norman, Franklin TV-Franklin Radio; Council on Aging

Steve Sherlock, Franklin Matters

Kris Russell, The Drummers' Studio

Phil Hall, Live ARTS

Jim Schultz, Franklin Resident, Folk Alliance International

Lisa Ostrow, Encore Music Academy & Recording Studios

Patrick Dreier, Encore Music Academy & Recording Studios

## Questions from Press and Public

3:25 p.m.

Adjourn

3:30 p.m.

The listings of matters are those reasonably anticipated by the Chair which may be discussed at the meeting. Not all items listed may in fact be discussed and other items not listed may also be brought up for discussion to the extent permitted by law.

For Additional information, contact:

Bryan W. Taberner, AICP, Director

Department of Planning and Community Development

508-520-4907; btaberner@franklinma.gov