## Town of Franklin

355 East Central Street Franklin, Massachusetts 02038-1352



Phone: (508) 520-4949 www.franklinma.gov

June 2, 2023

To: Town Council

From: Jamie Hellen, Town Administrator

## Re: Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee Appointments

On January 4, 2023 the Town Council voted to approve Resolution 23-08, to establish a Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee. The committee charge is also attached for your reference. Please note the committee sunsets December 2023 unless reauthorized. The Committee is charged with evaluating options and providing some recommendations to the full Town Council.

The resolution specifies that the Committee must be comprised of 3 members of the Town Council, 1 member of the Planning Board and 5 citizen members At-Large. The Planning Board voted and provided their recommendation, Greg Rondeau, to the Town Administrator for approval and that recommendation is being forwarded on.

For the At-Large seats, residents were invited to submit applications through the Town website, with a deadline of March 3rd. Staff received a total of twenty-nine applications for the five At-Large seats, and careful consideration was given to all of them. I am asking the Town Council to ratify the appointments of the nine individuals listed below to the Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee:

- 1) Deborah Pellegri, Chair (Town Council)
- 2) Patrick Sheridan, Vice-Chair (Town Council)
- 3) Ted Cormier-Leger, Clerk (Town Council)
- 4) Greg Rondeau (Planning Board)
- 5) Christopher Stickney (At Large)
- 6) Roberta Trahan (At Large)
- 7) Gwenyth Morss (At Large)
- 8) Megan McCarthy (At Large)
- 9) Sam Williams (At Large)

I'd like to thank these 9 individuals for stepping up to serve on this Committee, as well as everyone who submitted an application. I fully hope and expect that all interested applicants will remain engaged throughout the reuse advisory process. Davis-Thayer is an enormous asset for the community and I hope everyone in the community will tune in!



# TOWN OF FRANKLIN RESOLUTION 23-08

#### DAVIS-THAYER BUILDING REUSE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

**WHEREAS**: The Town Council desires to establish a Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee to evaluate potential strategies and future uses for the building and parcel of land the building is located on;

**NOW THEREFORE**, the Franklin Town Council hereby establishes the Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee as follows:

- 1. The Town Council has determined to appoint no more than nine (9) members to the Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee, including the following representation and nomination selection criteria:
  - a. Three (3) members of the Franklin Town Council;
  - b. One (1) member of the Franklin Planning Board; and
  - c. Five (5) members At-Large.
- 2. The Town Administrator shall nominate all nine members of the committee membership to be ratified by the Town Council. The Chair of the Town Council shall select the Chair, Vice-Chair and Clerk. Terms of the committee shall end on December 31, 2023.
- 3. Duties of the committee are as follows:
  - a. Conduct an assessment of current conditions and possible uses;
  - b. Conduct a market appraisal of the property;
  - c. Engage community stakeholders and citizen input through a public listening series; and
  - d. Evaluate potential future uses and make a final report to the Town Council by December 23, 2023.

This Resolution shall become effective according to the provisions of the Town of Franklin Home Rule Charter.





## **Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee**

## Franklin Town Council

Ted Cormier-Leger - 3 Ashbury Drive Deborah Pellegri - 181 Pleasant Street Patrick Sheridan - 48 West Street

## Franklin Planning Board

Greg Rondeau - 3 Ashley Circle

### Citizens At-Large

Megan McCarthy - 148 Dean Avenue Gwenyth Morss - 4 Maple Street Christopher Stickney - 18 High Street Roberta Trahan - 1 Green Street Sam Williams - 8 McCarthy Street

**MOTION** to ratify the appointments of the names listed above by the Town Administrator to serve as members of the Davis-Thayer Building Reuse Advisory Committee with terms to expire on December 31, 2023.

DATED:, 2023	VOTED:
	UNANIMOUS:
A True Record Attest:	YES: NO:
	ABSTAIN:
	ABSENT:
Nancy Danello	
Town Clerk	Glenn Jones, Clerk
	Franklin Town Council